The Jungle Book!

On Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday this week, I played the part of a monkey in our Sixth Form production of The Jungle Book. After three and a half months of rehearsals three times a week, the show finally came together and sold out for all three nights. The mains were all amazing, as were the chorus and producers and directors. I have to say, it was one of the best things I’ve ever done! However much I despised getting up early on Sunday mornings to go to 6 or 8 hour rehearsals, the end product was very much worth it! Three shows didn’t seem enough! I would have loved to do shows all week, but whether I could have actually managed that, I don’t know!

jodiesophieme

I’ve never got involved with anything like this before and believed that I hated drama after three years of lessons with my tutor group in years 7, 8 and 9! But after watching past Sixth Form productions and seeing the final product which everyone worked so hard on and enjoyed creating each night, I wanted to get involved! I hadn’t acted before but when it came to the shows it all went well and I’m so glad that I got involved! I won’t forget it or how much fun it’s been!

The whole experience was so much fun and now that it’s over I do feel quite sad! On Sunday when I can wake up at some time in the afternoon, I might not be so sad, but for the time being, I am missing all the energy and excitement that was involved in the whole process! It came together to make a brilliant, entertaining show that everyone involved could be proud of. I’ll miss the people involved, people who I wouldn’t normally have become friends with and I’ll miss the unity that came with being part of the cast.

The director and set designers were brilliant and without them it really wouldn’t have been what it was!

Goodbye Jungle Book, I love you!!

// Beth

Image

Leave a Reply

