My Time on Tinder

New year, new… whatever. I’m taking it back to 2015 and talking about Tinder.

I, like the rest of the world, thought I’d try out the dating app last year. I spent several months on it and there were many things I noticed (although nothing that juicy to report, sorry)!

Pets – If you have a dog, or a picture of yourself with a dog, put it on your Tinder profile. I am 96% more likely to swipe yes to you if there’s a puppy in one of your pictures. (However, if there’s a cat photo, you’ll come across as a cat person – not the way to attract me but at least that issue is out of the way early).

Bio – I understand this is a tough thing to crack, no one ever knows what to include in a Tinder bio, myself included. Some opt for no bio – not great as I get no indication of the type of person you are.IMG_3495

But one thing I do enjoy is a height measurement. I’m only 5’1″ so if you’re 6’4″, that’s good for me to know.
Also, if you don’t like Nandos, this is an valuable piece of information I’ll need from the get go – if you don’t like it, I probably won’t like you.

There have been a few who treat their bio as a job application – always a winner. This immediately makes me laugh which is a goo sign! But don’t describe yourself as funny, if you do, you’re probably not funny and I begin to picture you as one of someone who laughs at your own jokes, while a group of people sit around you in silence.

Photos – This may be my own insecurity but if there’s beautiful girls in your pictures, I’m not going to swipe right. Of course, they’re probably just your friends or whatever, but if I’ll never feel comfortable with them (as they are obviously so stunning), I’m not going to swipe ‘yes’ for you. Keep to photos of you. Oh, and make it obvious which one you are… many a time have I seen a good looking guy and it turns our to be your friend…

Also, and this should NEVER have to be said, DO NOT put pictures of your wedding on Tinder. Are you serious? Are you still married? Even if you’re not, they aren’t the pictures a potential new girlfriend wants to decide on which way to swipe you!

Chat – ‘Heeey’ – sleazy right? Right. I’m super unlikely to respond to this conversation starter. You know who you are.

Tinder can turn up the unexpected though, that’s for sure. I’d say to keep an open mind on it and just see what happens. It’s not for me, but that’s not to say it isn’t successful – many of my friends have met people though Tinder and these relationships have gone on to last.

But, now it’s 2016 and although the app is still on my phone, it’s time for me to sign off from Tinder.

 

// Beth

Leave a Reply

