Hello 2017!

I’ll skip past Christmas because I’m sure everyone is tired of the old ‘how were the holidays’ questions by now! But this is my first blog post of the year, so Happy New Year and I hope the first week on 2017 was good to all of you!

ef1h5yttmz8-annie-spratt

I’ve got some exciting plans during March, April and May because I’m travelling around the world! I’ll be trying my hand at travel blogging as I attempt to keep this blog up to date with where I am and some of the things I’ve been doing in Australia, Asia and America!

I’ll also share any wisdom and knowledge that I might pick up along the way! I’m already planning some advice posts about travelling with Cystic Fibrosis, as it can be extra complicated – not to mention a lot more expensive!

For now though, I’ll entertain you by talking about my other plans for this year. I’ve decided that I don’t believe in resolutions – by the 3rd of January you’ve already given up and by the 10th you don’t even remember what the resolution was. I couldn’t tell you what my 2016 resolution was, so I probably didn’t succeed in keeping to it. I probably didn’t even make one. Instead, this year I’m just going to work on a few things and make some minor adjustments that will make me happier!

This year I will:

Start buying more second hand clothes. I may have an online shopping problem, but I’ll be trying to curb my spending a little this year and I think I might achieve this by spending more time on Depop. Instead of going straight to Boohoo or New Look and buying brand new items, I’ll look around for cheaper and older options and Depop is a perfect place to start! screen-shot-2017-01-07-at-11-43-26

Slow down on buying books and speed up on reading them! My unread:to-read book ratio is very unbalanced. I have a bit of a book-buying problem… I keep buying more and more from Amazon and reading half of them before buying another haul! So I will try to read all the ones I have before buying any more, especially because I don’t have the bookshelf space… (Or maybe I’ll just start buying e-books instead…)

Stop caring about how old people think I am. I recently got told I look like I’m 13 years old, which as you can imagine is a bit like a punch in the throat for a 21 year old to hear. Throughout 2016 I learnt to be more confident and happy with my body, which I was – up until the moment I get told I look like a child. I at least look 16 years old, don’t I? This might be my biggest challenge as it really gets to me when I get treated like a child, but I’ll never be happy as long as I’m caring about what other people think!

Do more writing. When I come back from travelling I will start to look for my first real career job, which will hopefully link to my degree in Journalism. In the time between finishing university and acquiring this future job I should have been working on any publication I can get my hands on, writing whatever I can and building up a great portfolio. Although I write this blog and have two part time jobs (one where I do write for a media agency), I am definitely not writing as much as I should be! I need to step up.

qkpb5g9p338-chuttersnap

By the end of this year I hope first and foremost that my face has caught up with my age and maybe I’ll finally start looking 21. (I’ll be 22 by the end of the year but 21 is a good start!?) I may also be in need of another bookshelf… What are your new year goals? Have you made any resolutions this year?

// Beth

Leave a Reply

