What I’ve Been Reading

My current days are being spent sending job applications and walking Mona the dog. While this might sound like a fairly luxurious life, I’m actually so bored and I’m really eager now to start my career! However, that takes time so in the meantime, I need to find things to fill my days. Back on January 1st 2017, I made a resolution to read more books than I did last year – that means this year I need to read more than 30!

I’m not doing very well with this resolution so far, but in my defence I’ve been fairly busy this year up until now! Plus, with the travelling I relied on ebooks, which I never enjoy as much as the real thing and they slowed down my progress!

I think I’m on about 14/30 so far and I wanted to share some of the ones that I’ve enjoyed most.

Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling

This book has been sat on my shelf for about two years (and I owe my friend an apology for that, because I borrowed it from her!) I think because it wasn’t a Harry Potter book, I wasn’t very keen to read it, but I should have known that it would be great anyway. It is J.K. Rowling, after all. I finally got around to reading it when I got back in May and I’m glad I did. (Mostly for my friend, I really need to give it back to her…)

It was hugely different from Harry Potter, with more adult content and chapters written in different perspectives. Although the story always links back to a Parish Council, it never gets boring. It’s funny, rude, weird and political, and ultimately tragic.

IMG_0378.jpg

The Pact – Jodi Picoult

I may have just described a J.K. Rowling book, but I’m going now going to say that Jodi Picoult may be the best writer I’ve come across. Earlier in the year I read her new book, Small Great Things, which covered some sensitive, but interesting, topics. The same could be said for The Pact, but while Small Great Things kept no secrets, The Pact didn’t reveal the true events until the end. It was a teen’s love story, with extra complications and tragedy. I’ve recently bought Nineteen Minutes to read, as it’s listed as one of Whitcoulls Top 100 books – a leaflet I picked up in a bookshop in New Zealand. Along with my resolution, I’m also aiming to read most of the books on the list.

IMG_0379.jpg

The Hypnotist’s Love Story – Liane Moriarty

Liane Moriarty is another author featured on the Whitcoulls Top 100 book list – possibly because she’s Australian but also because she’s an incredibly talented writer. Her books are obviously doing well on that side of the world, but they’re also really successful in the UK too, just showing how good she must be. Her whole book collection was on sale in nearly every airport I’ve been to this year – and that’s a lot!

I first read Big, Little Lies by this author and it was amazing. It’s was so good that it’s been made into a TV show, which I have yet to watch! I’ve been making my way through all of her other books since finishing that one, and while they’re all great, none are quite as good as Big, Little Lies. The Hypnotist’s Love Story started well and was really gripping for a while, but after everything came to a head, it slowed down a lot. I really enjoyed that it gave two perspectives though and there’s always something interesting about everything that Liane Moriarty writes. I’m just waiting to borrow the newest book from my stepmum when she’s done reading it!

screen-shot-2016-10-16-at-15-50-54

Then. Now. Always. – Isabelle Broom

I love Isabelle Broom’s books. They’re always based in an exotic and lush location – which she travels out to visit when writing. Isn’t that the perfect job!? She’s currently written about Greece, Prague and now Spain. Each book is romantic and classy, emphasised by her perfect descriptions of each exotic place. There’s often a past or underlying storyline as well, always ready to pop up at the opportune time and cause some necessary drama. My Map of You was her first novel and is the reason that I now read each of her books religiously. It’s depictions of Greece were perfect and as I had just returned from a week in Kos when I read it, it took me right back to the sunny island. It’s still my favourite of her books, but so far Then. Now. Always. is shaping up to be a good competitor. As this is what I’m currently reading, that’s all I can reveal so far!

 

Wish me luck on my challenge to read more books than last year. I’m sure when I land the job I’m trying so hard to get, I’ll have a lot less time for this recreational reading!

 

// Beth

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

