15 Reasons To Be Happy

With bad news coming in thick and fast from bulletins and news outlets and so much negativity being shared online by social media users, it can be hard to find some positivity on the internet. Then I came across a blogger who wrote a list like this and I was inspired.

In times like these, it’s important to find happiness in each day. I’m a positivity promoter (just ask the girls I was travelling with), and I always try to see the best in every situation, instead of letting things get me down or worry me. Instead of dwelling on the parts of life which may not be so great, whether personal or international, recognise the little things that make you happy and be grateful for them.

Just take a look at my examples and try making a list of your own! (Declaration: I write about getting job interviews in this post but as of Friday I officially have a job that I will be starting in September – a blog post will explain all soon!)


  1. BLT sandwiches – the King of all sandwiches, don’t fight me on this.
  2. Catching up with friends for coffees and kebabs (although tea is an everyday source of happiness too)
  3. Finishing books and starting new ones that I’ve been wanting to read for so long & when you finally get a good book! Good books are the ones that are addictive, have satisfying endings and leave you thinking about it for a long time afterwards.
  4. Finding new music that I love – it might take a while to find it, but it’s worth the long search!
  5. KKandbabyJ on YouTube – I never really got into YouTube but I love this channel and their Daily Vlogs.

  6. Walking Mona the puppy (obviously)
  7. Watermelon in summer (wait, what summer?) – On those three days when it was sunny in England, watermelon was the best refreshing snack.
  8. Planning and wearing my holiday wardrobe, and actually feeling confident and comfortable in it. (See previous blog posts about this topic here and here!)
  9. Feeling fitter since coming home after travelling. I am almost 100% anti-exercise, but it does feel good to be fitter and healthier!
  10. Magazines – the journalist in me is showing here. Glamour, Conde Nast Traveller, Blogosphere, Cosmopolitan etc. It’s a dream that one day I could be writing for one of these!

  11. A giant jar of chocolate raisins – a birthday gift from my travelling buddy. (If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know that I have an addiction to chocolate raisins and Jaffa Cakes – the first step is admitting you have a problem).
  12. Getting job interviews, just as the hope of ever finding one is fading!
  13. Watching reruns of TV shows that never get old. Currently: Friends, which manages to still be hilarious even thought it’s been 23 years since it started and Brooklyn Nine-Nine, which I didn’t realise could be so hilarious until I starting binge watching it on Netflix.
  14. Memories of travelling – although it’s so sad to be home and not seeing new, amazing things around the world everyday, I’ve got a whole bunch of memories that I’m grateful for.

  15. Plans for more travelling… there’s so many places to visit. Even after my trip earlier this year, I’ve only just started seeing the World! (Statement supported by my scratch map which looks untouched but isn’t).

 

// Beth

 

3 thoughts on “15 Reasons To Be Happy

Leave a Reply

