Cystic Fibrosis & Social Distancing

It’s not often that I get frustrated with my condition. There have been times in the past when it would bother me a lot more: times when I was in and out of hospital, missing school and unable to attend plans on weekends; coughing pretty much 24/7 and not getting much sleep because of it; feeling exhausted and not able to keep up with those around me.

Those of you who’ve visited this blog before know I’m a lot healthier now, in a way that allows me to put my condition second on my list of priorities – it’s listed after having good quality of life, trying to live normally and enjoying myself. This is why I don’t tend to get frustrated with my cystic fibrosis often. But with the current situation happening in the world, I’m started to feel this all over again.

Covid-19 puts me in a high-risk, vulnerable group. I have a chronic lung disease and I need to be careful. Suddenly, I’m having to swap my priorities and put CF and my health first. That’s not a problem, the whole world is having to put their health first right now – whether that’s by government advice or just common sense. This is a virus that we don’t know or understand, and no one wants to catch it.

So why am I beginning to feel so frustrated? Maybe it’s because I’m isolated in my house, knowing that even a quick trip to the supermarket is a risk I should be avoiding. Maybe it’s because I’m being grouped in with those who are vulnerable, despite trying nearly my entire life to make sure no one perceives me this way. Maybe it’s because I feel like I’m taking greater precautions than others, and in turn disrupting their routines and making it harder for them to live normally. I’ve never let cystic fibrosis feel like a burden to me, so the last thing I want is for it to feel like a burden to those around me.

This is only week one of social distancing. A week ago, I was still taking the tube into central London to go to work, and now I’m having to give my shopping list to my housemates instead of going out myself. Things have changed very quickly, and the next few weeks (even months) will only require more of this strange way of living – with separation, social distancing and isolation. Let’s hope I can get over these frustrations and just get used to it.

adrien-ledoux-60VrGk-bfeA-unsplash

 

// Beth

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 21.13.15

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑